Categorized | About

Sydney Darts Masters Quarter-Finals

Adrian Lewis, Phil Taylor, Michael van Gerwen and Simon Whitlock will stage The Sydney Darts Masters Semi-Finals on Saturday after their Quarter-Final wins today at the Luna Park in Sydney.

Twice former World Champion Adrian Lewis started the proceedings with an 8-5 win over Wes Newton and will now play Michael van Gerwen in the first Semi-Final.

Current World Champion Phil Taylor brushed aside the challenge of Paul Nicholson with a 108 average and now meets Aussie favorite Simon Whitlock on the back of his impressive win over in form Andy Hamilton by 8 legs to 1.

The Semi-Finals will take place Tommorrow. 

Sydney Darts Masters
Adrian Lewis 8-5 Wes Newton
Michael van Gerwen 8-1 Clinton Bridge
Phil Taylor 8-2 Paul Nicholson
Simon Whitlock 8-1 Andy Hamilton
Best of 15 legs – first to eight
Saturday 31st August
Adrian Lewis v Michael van Gerwen
Phil Taylor v Simon Whitlock
Best of 19legs – first to ten

Match Information

Adrian Lewis v Wes Newton 0-0 – Adrian Lewis wins the bull and throws first. 0-1 – Newton breaks in the opening leg, initially missing double 12 for a 104 finish before returning to take out double three after Lewis missed a trio of darts at double two. 1-1 – Lewis fires in the game’s first maximum before landing double top to break. 1-2 – Newton breaks again, finishing 58 on tops at the first time of asking. 2-2 – With Newton waiting on 32, Lewis takes out a brilliant 138 on double nine. 3-2 – Lewis finishes 78 on tops to hold throw for the first time in the game. 3-3 – Double ten sees Newton level. 4-3 – Lewis kicks off with a 180 and adds a 140, and though Newton fires in a maximum in reply, the two-time World Champion finishes 92 for an 11-darter. 4-4 – Lewis is punished for missed darts at double top and ten as Newton is given a reprieve to land double five. 5-4 – Lewis regains his range to edge back ahead. 6-4 – Lewis secures a potentially key break, hitting a 180 to leave 41, and when Newton is unable to finish 130, he returns to hit double 16 at the first time of asking, moving two legs clear for the first time. 6-5 – Newton hits back with a fine 104 checkout to break back. 7-5 – Lewis takes his average to above 100 with another 11-darter, scoring 140, 180 and 134 before finishing double 16 to break. 8-5 – Lewis misses the bullseye, but Newton cannot finish 123 and he returns to take out double eight to seal a fine win.

Michael van Gerwen v Clinton Bridge 0-0 – Michael van Gerwen wins the bull and throws first. 1-0 – van Gerwen lands two 140s in the opening leg, and although he misses the bull for a 161 checkout, he returns to finish double eight for a 14-darter. 2-0 – van Gerwen breaks throw on tops to double his advantage by taking out 60 in two darts. 3-0 – The Dutch ace misses the bull for a 170 finish, but Bridge – who opened the leg with two 140s – is also off-target with three darts at doubles across two visits to allow van Gerwen back in on double four. 4-0 – The pair trade 180s, but Bridge is punished for two further misses as van Gerwen returns on double ten to move four legs up. 5-0 – van Gerwen finishes 62 on double eight to extend his advantage. 5-1 – van Gerwen kicks off with a 180, but Bridge finishes tops for a fine 13-darter to win his first leg of the contest. 6-1 – Double four sees the Dutchman regain his cushion. 7-1 – van Gerwen takes out a superb 154 checkout, finishing the combination with two treble 20s and double 17. 8-1 – The Dutch ace completes a fine performance b landing double 16.

Phil Taylor v Paul Nicholson 0-0 – Paul NIcholson wins the bull and throws first. 0-1 – Nicholson holds throw in the opening leg on double eight. 1-1 – Taylor levels by landing double 16 at the second time of asking. 2-1 – Taylor lands a 180 and finishes 80 in two darts on double ten to break throw and move ahead. 3-1 – The World Champion consolidates his advantage with a superb 14-darter. 3-2 – The pair trade 180s before Taylor misses darts at double 12 and six to break again, and Nicholson steps in to land double ten with his third dart to hit back. 4-2 – Taylor lands double 16 to regain his two-leg cushion. 5-2 – Taylor initially misses his chance to open up a two-leg lead, but Nicholson fails to set up a double when needing 71 – hitting 13 but missing the single 18 to leave tops – to allow the world number one back in double nine. 6-2 – Taylor takes out 84 on double 11 to move two legs away from the win. 7-2 – Nicholson opens with a 180, with Taylor powering in a 177 in reply before missing double seven to take out 93, but a pair of misses at tops from Nicholson allow him back in on double two to move to the brink of victory. 8-2 – Taylor opens with a 180 and adds two more treble 20s in his second visit, before posting double ten to complete a brilliant display, ending with an average of 108.31.

Simon Whitlock v Andy Hamilton 0-0 – Andy Hamilton wins the bull and throws first. 1-0 – Whitlock brings the capacity crowd to its feet by opening with a 180, and finishes double 16 to win the opening leg against the throw. 2-0 – Hamilton lands a 180, but Whitlock finishes 78 on double 12 to double his lead. 3-0 – Whitlock breaks again, punishing misses from Hamilton by landing double four. 3-1 – Hamilton opens with 180 and 140 and finishes 84 on the bull to get off the mark with a 12-darter. 4-1 – Double top sees Whitlock regain his cushion. 5-1 – The Australian continues to delight the crowd by posting double 19. 6-1 – Whitlock takes out 124 on double eight to move five legs clear. 7-1 – The Australian opens with 140 and 180 as he moves a leg away from the win. 8-1 – Double ten sees the Australian favourite progress to a semi-final with Phil Taylor.






Leave a Reply

Iceman Shop
Iceman Shop

Iceman Tweets

Wozza’s Facebook Fans